Connecting European Neuroscience

FENS-KAVLI Network of Excellence PhD Thesis Prize

The FENS-Kavli Network of Excellence PhD Thesis Prize is awarded every second year to young neuroscientist for his/her outstanding PhD thesis in any domain of neuroscience.

Nominations for this call closed on 15 February 2016 (midnight, Brussels time).

Note: The results of the submitted nominations will be communicated to the candidates on 25 April. The winner of the PhD Thesis Prize will be publicly announced at the FENS Forum, during the Awarding Ceremony (4 July, 5:10 pm).

FENS-KAVLI Network of Excellence PhD Thesis Prize

Personal prize money: 2.000 €


- The PhD must have been conducted in a FENS member country;
- The candidate must have successfully defended his/her PhD thesis at the home institution;
- At the time of the submission, no more than two years may have elapsed since the PhD was awarded;
- The candidate must have at least one first-author manuscript published or accepted for publication. In case of a co-first authorship, the contribution of the applicant must be clearly stated on the publication, and can be further outlined in an accompanying document; 
- The candidate has to be available to attend the FENS Forum 2016 (Copenhagen, 2-6 July).
Nomination Procedure:
Applicants may either be nominated by their PhD supervisor, or may self-nominate.

The nomination must include:

- A letter of recommendation from the PhD supervisor, which should be sent directly to the Selection Committeee (please check the application form); 
- The CV of the applicant, including:
       - Full citation of a first-author manuscript (published or accepted for publication);
       - Full list of publications;
       - List of academic and professional awards, if applicable;
       - Relevant professional experience, including teaching duties, if applicable;
- An electronic copy of the PhD diploma;
- An electronic copy of the PhD thesis document;
- An electronic copy of the first-author manuscript.

PhD Thesis Prize Selection Committee *: