Connecting European Neuroscience

The CAJAL Advanced Neuroscience Training Programme

The CAJAL Advanced Neuroscience Training Programme represents commitment by the five partner institutions FENS, IBRO, the Gatsby Charitable Foundation, University of Bordeaux and the Champalimaud Foundation, which offers state-of-the-art hands-on training courses in neuroscience.

Upcoming CAJAL Courses




Behaviour of Neural Systems, 15 July – 4 August 2018
, Champalimaud Centre for the Unknown

Computational Neuroscience, 12 August  1 September 2018
,Champalimaud Centre for the Unknown

Developmental Neurobiology and Pathologies, 3-22 April 2018
, Bordeaux Neurocampus
 – in partnership with ERA-NET Neuron

Neuroinflammation and How to Study It, 25 June – 7 July 2018, Bordeaux Neurocampus

Advanced Imaging Methods for Cellular Neuroscience, 10-29 September 2018
,Bordeaux Neurocampus

Linking Neural Circuits and Behaviour, 8-26 October 2018
, Bordeaux Neurocampus


  • ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

What they say about the CAJAL Programme

"The CAJAL programme is a re-invention of neuroscience training that emphasises practical “hands on” training in very advanced methods". [...]
Adam Kampff, course director - CAJAL Behaviour Neural Systems course 2015. Read more.

"I loved that the course was really hands-on and intense; I feel like I learned a lot. I had a wonderful time meeting the other students and instructors." [...]
Morgane Nouvian, student - CAJAL Behaviour and Neural Systems course 2015. Read more. 


For enquiries, please contact:





featured image

Winter School on Navigation

Apply to the first series of FENS Hertie Winter Schools on Neural control of behaviour. 

Animal navigation across species will be covered; including insects, birds, bats, rodents, and humans.

Date: 10-16 December 2017

Stipends are available

Deadline: 21 August 2017


featured image

Cortex Evolution and Development

24-27 September 2017, Copenhagen, Denmark

Co-chairs: Zoltán Molnár (University of Oxford) & Arnold Kriegstein (University of California, San Francisco)

Late application deadline: 20 August 2017