Connecting European Neuroscience

Boehringer Ingelheim FENS Research Award 2008

The award is sponsored by Boehringer Ingelheim and is announced by the Federation of European Neuroscience Societies (FENS). It is given in recognition of outstanding and innovative scientific efforts in all areas of neuroscience research. The prize money is 25.000,-- Euro.

Applications can either be submitted by candidates themselves, or candidates can be proposed. Participants must be under 40 years of age and either be working in a European institute or be of European.

The award 2008 has been attributed and will be presented in Geneva during the Forum of European Neuroscience 2008 (July 12-16, 2008). The prize winner will be asked to give a plenary lecture at the meeting.

The deadline for application was 30 June 2007.

The application should include the following documents:

  • short CV
  • list of publications
  • short summary of the main research topic documented by key publications
  • short outline of the research project for which the prize money is intended
  • two letters of recommendation from key scientists in the field

 Awarding Committee

Anders Björklund (Sweden)
Gaetano Di Chiara (Italy)
Richard S. J. Frackowiak (UK)
Tamas Freund (Hungary)
Willem Gispen (The Netherlands)
Helmut Kettenmann (Germany)
Platon Kostyuk (Ukraine)
Pierre Magistretti (Switzerland)
Richard Morris (UK)
Erwin Neher (Germany)
Alois Saria (Austria)
Bernd Sommer (Germany)
Nancy Rothwell (UK)