Connecting European Neuroscience

Eric Kandel Young Neuroscientists Prize

Eric Kandel Young Neuroscientists Prize

The Eric Kandel Young Neuroscientists Prize awarded by the Hertie Foundation and FENS recognises the work of outstanding young scientists in the field of neuroscience and helps advance their careers as researchers. The prize is named after American Nobel Prize winner Prof. Eric Kandel, and is awarded every two years.

The prize was established in 2009 and includes:

  • Prize money of € 50,000 for personal use
  • A research budget of up to € 50,000 for a scientific cooperation (partnership or mentoring) that extends the laureate’s area of research
  • The Eric Kandel Prize Lecture at the FENS Forum

An international jury of leading neuroscientists selects the candidate and the prize is officially awarded by Prof. Kandel.

Eric Kandel Young Neuroscientists Prize 2019

The Hertie Foundation and the Federation of European Neuroscience Societies (FENS) have announced the winner of the 2019 prize for early career neuroscientists: Misha B. Ahrens, PhD.

He was awarded by Prof. Kandel on 24 September 2019 in a ceremony in Frankfurt/Main, Germany. He will aso give a lecture at the FENS Forum 2020 in Glasgow, UK.


For further information please visit:

Misha B. Ahrens

Upcoming Awards

  • 2021

Previous Awards