Connecting European Neuroscience

Neuroscience Outreach Awards 2016

The two Neuroscience Outreach Awards 2016 were announced on Monday 4th July at 12.30 pm during the award ceremony at the FENS Forum 2016, in Copenhagen.

Warm congratulations to the awardees!



The winner of the 2016 Dana/EDAB Neuroscience Outreach Champion award is:
Professor Paul Bolam,
emeritus Senior Scientist at the MRC Brain Networks Dynamics Unit at the University of Oxford. Professor Bolam has given 75 talks since 2009, often on the theme of the ageing brain and Parkinson’s disease, including the need for animals in medical research.   His open and clear approach has enabled him to truly engage with school children and adults of all ages through a series of activities ranging from lab experience for teenagers, to Café Scientifique, to discussions with people affected by Parkinson’s disease.

Professor Bolam is a world-leading authority on the neurobiology of the basal ganglia in health and disease, structures in the brain that are responsible for voluntary motor control, procedural learning, eye movement, and cognitive, emotional functions. He is also the editor in chief of the European Journal of Neuroscience (EJN).


The EDAB-FENS Brain Awareness Week Excellence Award
this year goes to:
The Edmond and Lily Safra Center for Brain Sciences, of the Hebrew University of Jerusalem, in Israel.  Established in 2010, the Center has a comprehensive and innovative research agenda that includes dialogue with the public.  To this end, they initiated Art and the Brain week, a series of lectures and cultural events including dance, art exhibitions and films that reveal the brains creative processes. Since 2011, Art and the Brain has reached more than 10,000 children and adults in Jerusalem and beyond, and thousands more through newspapers, radio and television.


   Download the press release about the award ceremony at the FENS Forum 2016.


The Neuroscience Outreach Awards Selection Committee is responsible for evaluating the submitted proposals and selecting the awardees for the Dana/EDAB Neuroscience Outreach Award and the EDAB-FENS BAW Excellence Award. The Award Committee appointed by the Dana Foundation/EDAB and FENS in 2016 is composed of:

- Carlos Belmonte, Member of EDAB Executive Committee
- Colin Blakemore, EDAB Vice-Chairman
- Monica Di Luca, FENS President
- Marian Joëls, FENS Past-President
- Malgorzata Kossut, Member of EDAB Executive Committee and FENS Communication Committee member
- Pierre Magistretti, IBRO President and EDAB Vice-Chairman


More information on The Brain Awareness Week (BAW)