Connecting European Neuroscience

Winner of the EJN Best Publication Award 2015 announced

14 July, 2015 in FENS News

In collaboration with FENS and Wiley-Blackwell, EJN is proud to announce that the winner of the "Best Publication Award 2015" is Dr. Silvina Laura Diaz, PhD, DVM, researcher at CONICET, Buenos Aires, Argentina.

Dr. Silvina Laura Diaz receives this Award for her publication in EJN entitled:

"Paradoxical increase in survival of newborn neurons in the dentate gyrus of mice with constitutive depletion of serotonin"(published in EJN volume 38, issue 5). The paper was coauthored by Nicolas Narboux-Nême (equal contribution to SLD), Sara Trowbridge, Sophie Scotto-Lomassese, Felix Kleine Borgemann, Sebastian Jessberger, Bruno Giros, Luc Maroteaux, Evan Deneris and Patricia Gaspar.

The study of Diaz, Narboux-Neme et al. challenged the idea of decreased neurogenesis in a hyposerotonergic brain. They demonstrated a counterintuitive increase of hippocampal cell survival in three different mice models with profound reductions of serotonin neurotransmission. Since this publication, these observations have been replicated in another model of hyposerotonergic mice (Sachs et al, Transl Psy 2013), supporting the concept that physiological levels of serotonin are essential for normal survival of adult-born neurons.

Dr. Diaz will receive this award of £3,000 at the upcoming FENS Regional Featured Meeting in Thessaloniki, 7 - 10 October 2015.

FENS wholeheartedly congratulates Dr. Diaz on this achievement.

More about Dr. Silvina Laura Diaz on the EJN Best Publication Award 2015 page.

News archive