Connecting European Neuroscience

Helen Cooper

Programme Committee Member FENS Forum 2020

Curriculum Vitae

Professional and academic career

Academic Qualifications

  • PhD: The University of Melbourne
  • Bachelor of Science Degree (Honours): The University of Melbourne

Current Appointment (2002-present)

  • Professor, Principal Research Fellow, Queensland Brain Institute, The University of Queensland
  • Head of Neural Migration Laboratory, Queensland Brain Institute

Previous Appointments

  • Special Research Fellow, Laboratory Head, Neural Migration Laboratory, Walter and Eliza Hall Institute for Medical Research, Melbourne (1999-2002)
  • Research Fellow, Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research, Melbourne (1991-1999)
  • Postdoctoral Fellow, Dept of Immunology, Scripps Research Institute, La Jolla (1985-1991).

Honours and awards

  • ResTeach Award, The University of Queensland (2008-2012, 2014-2015)
  • Smart Futures Fellowship, Queensland State Government (2009-2012)
  • Australasian Neuroscience Society Medallion for service to the Society (2008)
  • Australasian Neuroscience Society Paxinos-Watson Prize for the most significant paper published by a member of the Society in 2006 (Keeble et al, 2006)
  • Australian Research Council Postdoctoral Fellowship (1993-1997)
  • Postgraduate Award, The University of Melbourne (1985)
  • PhD Special Scholarship, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, The University of Melbourne (1985)
  • CSL PhD Scholarship (1981-1984)

General administrative and organisational experience

Societal Committees

Executive Committee: Australasian Neuroscience Society (ANS)

ANS National Council: Queensland Representative                                

Brisbane Chapter - American Society for Neuroscience: Committee member    

ANS Scientific Program Advisory Group

President: Brisbane Chapter of the American Society for Neuroscience

ANS National Council: Queensland Representative

ANZSCDB National Secretary

ANZSCDB Queensland Representative

Conference Organization

Co-chair: Local Organizing Committee: ANS 2018 meeting, Brisbane

Local Organizing Committee: ANS 2017 annual meeting, Sydney

Local Organizing Committee: Society for Mental Health Research Conference, 2015, Brisbane                             

Local Organizing Committee: 2012 ANS annual meeting, Gold Coast

Deputy Chair, Local Organizing Committee: COMBIO 2006, Brisbane COMBIO 2006

Recent University Committees

Chair: UQ Health Sciences Animal Ethics Committee

Designer/Coordinator: MPhil in Neuroscience degree, UQ

Deputy Chair: QBI Higher Degree Research (HDR) Committee

Research interests

  • Development of the neocortex and the molecular aetiology of cortical malformations
  • The role of axon guidance receptors in neural stem cell biology and neuronal migration
  • Molecular mechanisms governing the establishment of neural circuitry
  • Development of nanoparticle-based drug delivery systems

Selected Publications

  1. Lanoue V, Cooper HM. Branching mechanisms shaping dendrite architecture. Dev Biol doi: 10.1016/j.ydbio.2018.12.005, 2018
  2. Zuo H, Chen W, Cooper HM, Xu Z-P. A facile method for modifying layered double hydroxide nanoparticles with targeting ligand-conjugated albumin for enhanced delivery to brain tumour cells. ACS Appl Mater Interfaces 9:20444-20453, 2017.
  3. O’Leary CJ, Nourse CC, Lee NK, White A, Langford M, Sempert K, Cole SJ, Cooper HM.  Neogenin recruitment of the WAVE Regulatory Complex to ependymal and radial progenitor adherens junctions prevents hydrocephalus. Cell Reports 20:370-383, 2017.
  4. Lanoue V, Langford M, White A, Sempert K, Fogg L, Cooper HM. The Wnt receptor Ryk is a negative regulator of mammalian dendrite morphogenesis. Scientific Reports 7:5965, 2017.
  5. Torres-Berrío A, Lopez JP, Bagot RC, Nouel D, Dal-Bo G, Santiago Cuesta S, Zhu L, Manitt C, Eng C, Cooper HM, Storch F, Gustavo Turecki G, Nestler EJ, Flores C. DCC confers susceptibility to depression-like behaviors in humans and mice and is regulated by miR-218. Biological Psychiatry 81:306-315, 2017.
  6. LeeNK, Fok KW, WhiteA, Wilson,NH, O'LearyCJ,CoxHL, MichaelM, YapAS, Cooper HM. Neogenin recruitment of the WAVE Regulatory Complex maintains adherens junction stability and tension. Nature Communications 7:11082 doi: 10.1038/ncomms11082, 2016.     
  7. O’Leary CJ, Bradford D, Chen M, White A, Blackmore DG, Cooper HM. The Netrin/RGM receptor, Neogenin, controls adult neurogenesis by promoting neuroblast migration and cell cycle exit. Stem Cells33:503-514, 2015.
  8. Clark CEJ, Richards LJ, Stacker SA, Cooper HM. Wnt5a induces Ryk-dependent and -independent effects on callosal axon and dendrite growth. Growth Factors 32:11-17, 2014.
  9. O’Leary CJ, Cole SJ, Langford M, Hewage J, White A, Cooper HM. RGMa regulates cortical interneuron migration and differentiation. PLoS One 8:e81711, 2013.
  10. Kee N, Wilson N, Key B, Cooper HM. Netrin-1 is required for efficient neural tube closure. Dev Neurobiol 73: 176-187, 2013.         
  11. Clark C, Nourse C, Cooper HM. The tangled web of noncanonical Wnt signalling in neural migration. NeuroSignals 20: 202-220, 2012.     
  12. Wong Y, Markham K, Xu ZP, Chen M, Lu GQ, Bartlett PF, Cooper HM. Efficient delivery of siRNA to cortical neurons using layered double hydroxide nanoparticles. Biomaterials 518:3237-3253, 2010.
  13. Keeble TR, Halford MM, Seaman C, Kee N, Anderson RB, Macheda M, Stacker SA, Cooper HM. The Wnt receptor, Ryk, is required for Wnt5a-mediated axon guidance on the contralateral side of the corpus callosum. J Neurosci 26:5840-5848, 2006. 

Helen Cooper

The University of Queensland, Queensland Brain Institute
Address: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia, 4072