award image

GIRACT European PhD in Flavor Research Awards: Best PhD Thesis Award

Giract is proud to announce that, following the success of its unique and innovative programme to promote flavor research amongst PhD students in Europe across various universities and institutes, 8 industry sponsors will continue to support the programme, now in its 14th year. This consortium aims to raise awareness of the industry and career opportunities in order to increase the flavor research talent pool in Europe. The 8 sponsoring companies are:


This 14th edition is organised by Giract, in coordination with Andrea Cattaruzza, Director of AndCat Ltd and Professor Emeritus Andy Taylor of the University of Nottingham, UK.

The purpose is to promote innovative flavor research amongst PhD students across European universities and research institutes.

Award Type: Research Award

Prize Money: 5,000 Euro

Granting Body: Ajinomoto, Angel Yeast, DSM-Firmenich, Givaudan, Kerry, Lallemand Bio-Ingredients, Lesaffre International, Pepsico

Other Benefits or Honours: The successful candidate will be invited to Geneva to present his/her work to sponsoring companies and to attend Giract’s Annual Savory Flavor Conference, enabling the winner to network with 'potential employers'. The award of EUR 5000 will be presented at this meeting.

Research Field: Flavor Research

Eligibility: The applicant must be enrolled in any European university/institute (in any of the 35 countries including European Union countries, Iceland, Norway, Russia, Serbia, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine and UK)) for his/her PhD study. Any flavor related project that has led to the submission of a PhD in 2023. The applicant should not be already sponsored by, and/or bound to, a commercial organization. The winning candidate must be able to present all his/her research to programme sponsors, including patented work.

Requirements: The application form can be found on the website. Applications must be submitted electronically along with required documents to by 31st October 2023. All documents should be countersigned by the Professor concerned. Evidence of enrolment in the academic year 2023/2024 at the university/ institute should accompany the documents. The submitted thesis must be countersigned by the Professor concerned. Only the electronic version of the final thesis will be accepted. Deadline for thesis submission: December 1, 2023.

Application/Submission Deadline: 31 Oct 2023

Award Ceremony: 21 Mar 2024

Contact Details

Name: Pritha Pasad

Address: 24 Pré Colomb 1290 Versoix Switzerland

Phone: 41227790500