Kavli Prizes 2012 awarded

22 May 2012


22 May, 2012 in FENS News

Kavli Prizes 2012 awarded

ven pioneers who have made giant strides in the fields of astrophysics, nanoscience and neuroscience will share a prize fund of $3 million as recipients of the Kavli Prizes.

The Kavli Prize in Neuroscience is shared between

  • Cornelia Isabella Bargmann, Rockefeller University (New York, USA)
  • Winfried Denk, Max Planck Institute for Medical Research (Heidelberg, Germany), and
  • Ann M. Graybiel, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (Cambridge, USA).

They receive the prize for “for elucidating basic neuronal mechanisms underlying perception and decision”.

The seven laureates from USA, Germany, Vietnam and United Kingdom will all receive a scroll, a gold medal and share of the $1,000,000 prize for each of the three fields.

His Majesty King Harald will present the Kavli Prize to the laureates at an award ceremony in Oslo, Norway on September 4. The Kavli Prize, initiated by and named after Fred Kavli, is a partnership between The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, The Kavli Foundation (US) and The Norwegian Ministry of Education and Research.

For more detailed information on each of the prizes, the prize winners and their work, see the Kavli Prize web page.