The 11th IBRO Kemali International Prize for Outstanding Contributions in Neuroscience

18 April 2017

Society & Partner News

18 April, 2017 in Societies & Partner News

The 11th IBRO Kemali International Prize for Outstanding Contributions in Neuroscience will be awarded in 2017 by the IBRO Dargut & Milena Kemali Foundation.

The 11th IBRO Kemali International Prize for Outstanding Contributions in Neuroscience will be awarded in 2017 by the IBRO Dargut & Milena Kemali Foundation to a scientist less than 45 years of age on December 31, 2016 who has made outstanding contributions to Basic or Clinical Neuroscience. The Prize includes an award of 25,000 Euros.

Nominations in electronic format should be submitted by email to They should be received by 31 May 2017 (Midnight CET) and accompanied by: 

• the curriculum vitae of the candidate with a complete list of publications (no abstracts);
• one copy of three recent papers published by the candidate;
• a reference letter from an internationally recognised expert describing the candidate’s scientific achievements and standing;
• a summary (2 pages maximum) outlining the main scientific contributions of the candidate

Nominations will be evaluated by the Prize Committee of the IBRO Dargut & Milena Kemali Foundation. The recipient of the Prize will be notified by 15 July 2017. 

The Prize will be awarded at the next Federation of European Neuroscience Societies (FENS) Forum to be held in Berlin, Germany (7-11 July 2018), where the Prize recipient will give the IBRO Kemali Lecture (sponsored by the IBRO Dargut & Milena Kemali Foundation).

According to the FENS regulations, speakers from the previous FENS Forum in 2016 cannot be speakers at the FENS Forum 2018.

Previous Prize Recipients:

1998, Berlin, Germany
Tamas Freund (Budapest, Hungary) for his outstanding contributions to the organization and chemical characterization of identified neuronal circuits and cell types in the brain, in particular in the hippocampus.

2000 Brighton, UK 
Robert C. Malenka (Boston, MA, USA) for his fundamental contributions in the field of synaptic plasticity, in particular long term potentiation and long term depression, and the characterization of the role of silent synapses in these processes.

2002 Paris, France
Daniele Piomelli (Irvine, CA, USA) for his fundamental discoveries concerning the functional roles and regulation of endogenous cannabinoids in the brain and peripheral tissues.

2004 Lisbon, Portugal
Cornelia I. Bargmann (San Francisco, CA, USA) for her fundamental discoveries concerning genes, behavior, and the sense of smell in the nematode C. elegans.

2006 Vienna, Austria
Patrik Ernfors (Stockholm, Sweden) for his outstanding work on the expression and function of neurotrophic factors and neuropeptide and their receptors exploiting transgenic techniques.

2008 Geneva, Switzerland
Massimo Scanziani (San Diego, CA, USA) for his seminal discoveries on how cerebral cortex perceives the environment by showing that cortical circuits operate in an activity-dependent and non-linear fashion using canonical feed-forward and feed-back inhibition circuits as feature detectors of incoming stimuli.

2010 Amsterdam, Netherlands
Jonas Frisén (Stockholm, Sweden) for his pioneering contributions to our understanding of neurogenesis in the central nervous system. 

2012 Barcelona, Spain
Eleanor Maguire (London, UK) for her innovative contributions to understanding human memory. 

2014 Milan, Italy
Patrik Verstreken (Leuven, Belgium) for his success in undoing the effect of one of the genetic defects that leads to Parkinson’s using vitamin K2.

2016 Copenhagen, Denmark
Casper Hoogenraad (Utrecht, The Netherlands) for his outstanding work on cytoskeleton dynamics and intracellular transport in neural development and synaptic plasticity.