The Brain Prize 2018: Alzheimer’s researchers win world’s top brain research prize

06 March 2018

Society & Partner News

06 March, 2018 in Societies & Partner News

Four neuroscientists working in the UK, Belgium and Germany have today (6 March) won the world’s most valuable prize for brain research.

The 2018 Brain Prize is awarded to Bart De Strooper (London and Leuven), Michel Goedert (Cambridge), Christian Haass (Munich) and John Hardy (London) for their groundbreaking research on the genetic and molecular basis of Alzheimer’s disease.

The Brain Prize, awarded by the Lundbeck Foundation in Denmark, is worth one million Euros.

Awarded annually, it recognises one or more international scientists who have distinguished
themselves by an outstanding contribution to neuroscience. 

The research pioneered by these four European scientists has revolutionised our understanding of the changes in the brain that lead to Alzheimer´s disease and related types of dementias. Around 10 million people in Europe have Alzheimer’s disease.

Alzheimer’s disease and other neurodegenerative diseases of the ageing brain cause a great deal of suffering for patients and their families and are a huge challenge for society. It is among the hardest diseases to get a grip on despite dramatic progress over the last decades. This year’s Brain Prize winners have individually and together, made essential contributions to the genetic and molecular knowledge of Alzheimer’s disease which are the foundations for finding new ways to diagnose, treat and possibly even prevent it and other devastating diseases of the ageing brain.

Visit the Brain Prize 2018 Winners’ page here.

Access the full press release.