The Brain Prize – Call for Nominations 2018

15 May 2017

Society & Partner News

15 May, 2017 in Societies & Partner News

The Brain Prize is now open for researchers around the world

The Brain Prize was launched in 2011 and was awarded for the 7th time this year to Peter Dayan, Wolfram Schultz and Ray Dolan for their work on the brain´s reward mechanisms. The prize is awarded annually by the Lundbeck Foundation in Denmark. Until now the prize has had a European emphasis and been awarded to researchers who have made outstanding contributions in Europe, or have had close interactions with European research. The board of the foundation has now decided to remove this restriction and make to prize truly international. Thus, from this year nominees can be of any nationality and working in any part of the world.

The Brain Prize is a personal award of 1 mio. €. It recognizes highly original and ground-breaking advances in research on the nervous system, covering all aspects from fundamental studies to research related to understanding and treatment of diseases of the brain and other parts of the nervous system. The Prize is intended to raise the visibility of neuroscience and to be a stimulus to this important field of research. It may be awarded to one or shared by two or three scientists who have distinguished themselves through publication of outstanding results in the field of brain research. The prize may in extraordinary cases be awarded to four or more researchers.

Nominations under active consideration by the Selection Committee will be retained for a further 2 years, unless specifically withdrawn by the nominator. Renomination of previous nominees is possible and encouraged.

Call for Nominations is open until 15 September.