Three European scientists share the world’s largest prize for brain research

10 March 2014


10 March, 2014 in FENS News

The Brain Prize – Denmark’s 1 million euro brain research prize – is awarded to three European scientists for their pioneering research on higher brain functions. The prizewinners, Stanislas Dehaene, Giacomo Rizzolatti and Trevor Robbins, from France, Italy and the UK respectively, were announced on Monday, 10 March 2014 in Copenhagen.

The three scientists have provided extraordinary insights into reading skills, mathematical ability, motivations for behaviour, and social interaction. They are renowned for their efforts to translate knowledge from basic research to greater understanding of human cognitive and behavioural disorders and their treatments. Each of the researchers has made ground-breaking discoveries of complex mechanisms relevant to education, mental health, and social interaction.    

British professor Colin Blakemore, chairman of the Foundation’s selection committee, says: These three scientists are internationally recognised for the scale and outstanding quality of their work in the difficult field of human cognition and behaviour. They each have made unique and lasting contributions that have motivated the interests and efforts of many other researchers around the world. All three have made particular efforts to move from basic research to clinical application – in cognitive development, mental health, addiction, brain damage and delayed learning.

Chairman of the Foundation’s board, Professor Povl Krogsgaard-Larsen, says: We are proud to honour these three scientists with the 2014 Brain Prize. Their research interests span a wide spectrum of challenging issues of higher brain function. The three prize winners complement each other; together, they constitute a forceful trio. We are pleased to award this year’s prize to scientists who are providing us with a better understanding and better treatment of cognitive and behavioural diseases that are huge burdens to society. This is the fourth consecutive award of the Brain Prize since 2011 and it demonstrates the range of the Foundation’s outreach. We are confident that Danish neuroscientists will gain enormously from working with the prize winners.

For more information, please visit The Brain Prize website.