Travel Awards for Annual Meeting of Japan Neuroscience Society

19 February 2014


19 February, 2014 in FENS News

Neuroscience 2014, the 37th annual meeting of Japan Neuroscience Society (President: Professor Ryosuke Takahashi), will be held at Pacifico Yokohama, in Yokohama, Japan, from Thursday, September 11 to Saturday, September 13, 2014.

The Society will be celebrating its 40th anniversary in 2014. Wanting participants to come away with a real sense of the power of neuroscience, which still holds infinite possibilities for development in the future, we have chosen “Neuroscience Will Change the World” as the theme for Neuroscience 2014. Significant progress is currently being made towards breakthroughs in neural circuitry and better understanding of high-order functions. For example, new techniques for cell imaging with fluorescent proteins, generation of iPS cells and optogenetics are being developed to advance the understanding of the nervous system at the molecular, cellular and neural circuit levels. MRI, PET and other types of image analysis have accelerated the neuroscientific understanding of humans, while genome science has provided a means for discovering the pathogenic mechanisms of not only hereditary but also sporadic neurological diseases. To allow members of the Society to experience for themselves how “Neuroscience Will Change the World,” we have invited six of the top researchers from Japan and abroad who are at the cutting edge of this academic discipline to give plenary and special lectures.

Neuroscience 2014 offers Travel Awards to the non-Japanese students and post-docs traveling from abroad to present high quality papers at the meeting. The funding for travel will be between 40,000-150,000 JPY per award depending on the travel distance. The awardees will also be exempt from the registration fee of the meeting. Those from Asian countries are particularly encouraged. The submission of Travel Award applications should be made between February 17th (Mon.), 2014 and March 20th (Thu.), 2014.

For more information, please access the meeting website.

Ryosuke Takahashi President of Neuroscience 2014

Masatoshi Hagiwara Chair of Travel Award Committee